Mushroom and Chicken Tetrazzini

Another post of a recipe from one of the cookbooks my mother let me borrow….This one is from the William’s Sonoma Mayo Clinic Cookbook.

In case you’re wondering, my roommate and I are currently sharing meals (usually we would do our own groceries and such) so that we can try as many of these recipes as possible before school starts/I have to give back the cookbooks.

Fun fact: Before yesterday, I had never dealt with raw chicken before. As in, never. Anything I cooked with chicken, I bought the pre-cooked canned meat. And since I don’t generally cook with very much meat anyway (except for Tilapia!), I never saw the need to move away from canned. But this time, I chose to get raw chicken breast. Look at me go! And, I can now say that I successfully cooked it and managed not to give anyone food poisoning.

Enough about my raw chicken adventure…on to the recipe!

IMG_4269
The original recipe…with my notes

As usual, I modified the recipe somewhat based on what I already had for ingredients, etc. It turned out good, and I loved the texture of the sauce, but I wish that I had added in some garlic or something, because it tasted a little bland (or maybe that’s just my taste buds recovering from the massive amount of pesto I used in my last recipe…). I also cut out the sherry and hot sauce that were in the original recipe, which probably would’ve added flavor. I’m also not convinced that the parmesan and bread crumbs really added anything to the flavor, so I would either add more parmesan or totally cut it out.

 

Overall, I’d make this again, but I’d add garlic and more carrots and cut out the parmesan and bread crumbs 🙂

IMG_4254
Cooking the sauce. It looked sooo yummy!
IMG_4255
Ready to go in the oven
IMG_4257
All done!

 

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

2 c chicken broth

12 oz brown rice spaghetti

1  can (12 oz) of evaporated milk

3 Tbsp whole wheat flour

2 carrots (chopped)

10 mushrooms (sliced)

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp nutmeg

1/4 c bread crumbs

3 T parmesan cheese

  1. Cook the chicken. As you know by now, I’m no expert at this, so pick your preferred method
  2. Cook the spaghetti according to the directions on the package.
  3. Preheat the oven to 375
  4. Mix the evaporated milk, chicken broth, flour, pepper, and nutmeg in a saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring constantly.
  5. Add in the mushrooms and carrots and boil for 5 minutes.
  6. Put the cooked spaghetti in the bottom of a greased casserole pan
  7. Dump the sauce mixture into the casserole pan and mix it in with the spaghetti.
  8. Top with bread crumbs and parmesan
  9. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.
  10. Eat and enjoy!
mushroomchicken
1/10 of a recipe
One thought on “Mushroom and Chicken Tetrazzini

Comment!

