Fettucine with Cranberry Beans and Pesto

It’s been a while since I posted. And by a while…I mean a very very long while. What can I say? Life happens. Boyfriends cook food for you. Spring Break. Finals. Etc.

The important thing is that I’m back in business, at least for now.

So, a brief summary:

  1. I moved into a new house. Not an apartment, a house. With new roommates, a jungle yard, and everything else that having an actual house brings.
  2. My mother has graciously let me have some of her Williams Sonoma cookbooks, so I’ll be trying recipes out and posting about them.
  3. I’ve been on an internship for a month, but I’m now back home and slowly settling into a routine again. This is the very first meal I’ve cooked in my new house!

On to the recipe.

This recipe came out of the Williams Sonoma Rice and Beans cookbook. I, of course, modified the recipe according to my laziness and ingredients on hand, and that’s the version I’ll provide here.IMG_4203.JPG

This was my very first time using an actual garlic clove. I had no idea that when you bought garlic, it came as a head with lots of cloves on it…I always thought the whole thing was one clove. I had to look up how to mince it…IMG_4238

In hindsight, I’m not sure how much the cheese really added to this. I might leave it out if I were to make this again (which I probably will, because it was good!)

Ingredients:

2 cans of white beans

1 tsp chicken broth powder (mixed with 1 c water to make 1 c broth)

1 garlic clove

1 onion

1 c rice, uncooked

1 jar of classico pesto

2 T oil

1/2 c parmesan cheese

 

  1. Cook the rice
  2. Chop the onion and mince the garlic clove.
  3. Put the onion, garlic, and 2 T oil in a pot and cook on high, stirring every minute or so, until the onions are soft
  4. Add the beans and chicken broth and boil for 10 minutes to reduce the liquid
  5. Add the bean mixture to the rice, pesto, and cheese, and stir.
  6. Enjoy!

nutriont

One thought on “Fettucine with Cranberry Beans and Pesto

Comment!

