Chai Tea Concentrate

Recently, I’ve been on a chai tea latte kick. It all started when I learned how to make a London Fog (or something very similar) at home….and since then, I’ve been drinking less coffee and more tea lattes.

However, the problem with store-bought chai tea concentrate is the massive amount of sugar in it. (And, it’s fairly expensive.) I’m talking 15-25 grams of sugar for half of a cup! Now that’s hard for me to stomach for a morning beverage. So, when I stumbled on a recipe for making my own chai concentrate at home, I had to try it.

IMG_3555
This was one of my first experiences buying whole spices..they’re so pretty!
IMG_3557
When the mixture boiled, it almost foamed up (you can’t see it here)…much different than anything I’ve ever boiled before

I bought my spices in bulk, so they really weren’t all that expensive-at all. And, this tastes great! Very comparable to the store-bought kind, and if I’d added more sugar, I bet it wouldn’t been almost identical.

Give it a try!

 

Ingredients:

5 cinnamon sticks

2-3″ ginger root, thinly sliced

1 tsp peppercorns

3 star anise

15 cloves

5 allspice berries

12 cardamom pods

5 black tea bags

2 T sugar

2 T vanilla extract

6 c water

 

Directions:

  1. Dump all of the spices, water, and sugar into the pot (leave out the teat bags and vanilla extract).
  2. Bring to a boil, and then simmer for 20 minutes
  3. Remove from heat and add the tea bags.
  4. Strain out the spices and tea bags and store (makes about 1 liter)

To use the concentrate, just treat it like any other chai concentrate that you’d buy pre-made. Add it to milk in a 1:1 ratio.

 

This recipe can be easily modified to taste-experiment with adding less sugar, more sugar, different kinds of milk, and different amounts of spices. I know I can’t wait to make my next batch!

IMG_3558
Use it iced or hot!
2 Comments

  1. WOoooooow!!! I just remembered that you made a new post and scrambled on here as fast as I could. That tea looks amazing!! I will have to try making it when I get home. I bet it would taste amazing with some cashew milk!!! ❤

    Like

Comment!

