Overnight Oats-with Spinach!

This is something I’ve been wanting to try for a long time now. Here’s the idea: we put spinach in smoothies and it ends up tasting good…so why not use it in overnight oats?

I realize the idea of spinach in oatmeal sounds disgusting…but it turned out great! I’m definitely planning on making this again. Over…and over…and over. The only complaint I have about it is having to make “spinach milk” each time. I’ve toyed with the idea of making a couple of cups of it at the beginning of the week and letting it sit in the fridge for the week…but I have visions of it starting to ferment or something equally disgusting. So for now, one cup at a time.

I experimented with adding various amount of spinach…and you can DEFINITELY add too much. Unless you’re feeling brave, I’d stick with one handful.

Obviously, this can be modified to fit other overnight flavors-I just used my standard one.

Let me know if you try this! I’ve convinced that green oatmeal is going to be (or at least it SHOULD be) the next big thing!

Ingredients:

1/2 c quick oats

1 c milk

2 T chia seeds

1 T cinnamon sugar (1/2 cinnamon, 1/2 sugar)

1 handful of spinach

  1. Blend the spinach and milk in a blender until smooth
  2. Add the oats to the bottom of a pint-sized mason jar or the container of your choice.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir well.
  4. Let it sit in the fridge overnight. Eat the next morning!
3 thoughts on “Overnight Oats-with Spinach!

Comment!

