“Fried Couscous” aka couscous with cabbage

This recipe originated from a need to get rid of a giant head of cabbage (really, aren’t all cabbage heads seemingly never-ending?) without making anything too complicated.

I looked around a bit and found several recipes resembling fried rice. Now, I did have rice in my cupboard….but I didn’t particularly want to take the time to cook it. (It was around nine pm, and I didn’t want to start anything too extravagant right before bed.) So, I looked around a little longer hoping to find a different idea. Finally I gave up on finding something different, and accepted that I was going to be cooking rice. As I was getting out the rice, I saw some old couscous! In case you’re not familar with couscous, it literally takes ten minutes to make. My problem was solved!

Unfortunately, I didn’t quite manage to use up the entire head of cabbage (I still have 1/4 left…), but I definitely made some progress, and it turned out well! If I hadn’t been making this just to get rid of stuff in the cupboards, I would’ve added some more veggies like carrots, onions,  and celery, but like I said, it turned out good the way I made it!

3/4 head cabbage

3 eggs

1 c uncooked pearl couscous

3 T ginger

2 T minced garlic

3 T dried onion

1 T olive oil

  1. Cook the couscous. Boil 1/12 cups of water and then put the couscous in, remove from heat, and let sit for 10 minutes (Seriously, it’s that easy!)
  2. Chop the cabbage into small pieces.
  3. Put the cabbage, garlic, and spices into a large pot with 1/2 c water and cook over medium heat until the cabbage is soft.IMG_2847
  4. Put the cabbage mixture, cooked couscous, and oil into a very large pan (or wok, if you happen to have one-I don’t) and cook over medium heat until the couscous starts to brown.IMG_2848
  5. Add the eggs and stir them into the mixture. Cook until the eggs are cooked through, and remove from heat.
  6. Eat as is or with soy sauce.
  7. Congratulate yourself on using up your cabbage

    IMG_2850
    The finished product

 

 

3 thoughts on ““Fried Couscous” aka couscous with cabbage

Comment!

