Lemon Lentil Soup

First, and most importantly, I got the original recipe from this site.

Second, and almost equally as importantly, a few notes:

  1. Yes, I am aware that this looks like baby food
  2. It really is good.
  3. Really, it tastes good. I promise!

Now, on to less important matters.

This recipe is another one from my meal plan. By the way, I’m doing rather well at sticking to my meal plan (and so far to my other New Year’s Resolutions). To be honest, I didn’t necessarily have high hopes for it…it kind of just looked like lentil mush with not a lot of flavor. In spite of my initial judgment, the recipe somehow made it onto my meal plan, and turned out to be actually quite good. In fact, really good. It’s also super easy, which is a definite plus. I will definitely be making this again!IMG_2690

1 onion

2 T minced garlic

1 T olive oil

1.5 c dry red lentils

6 c vegetable broth

4 T lemon juice (or more to taste)

4 c spinach

2 T parsley (fresh)-or as much as desired

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp hot red pepper flakes

  1. Chop the onion and spinach.
  2. Put the olive oil, garlic, and onion in a pot and cook over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  3. Add the spinach, red pepper, and cumin and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes.
  4. Add the lentils and vegetable broth. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Remove from heat and add the lemon juice and as much parsley as desired.
  6. Enjoy!:)

Nutrition facts for 1/5 serving: 306 calories, 77 g carbs, 22 g protein, 1.5 g fat, 29 g fiber, 6.7 g sugar

2 Comments

Comment!

