Sushi!

Back in Moscow (Idaho, not Russia), I have sushi every month or so. There’s a wonderful sushi restaurant, and I have a friend that occasionally  makes vegan sushi (Check out her blog!). She invited me over once for vegan sushi, and I got to learn how to make it. So, when I came back home for the holidays, I insisted that my family try it. Although none of them like sushi at all, my mom admitted it was “not as bad as usual”, which is the highest compliment I think I’ll ever hear sushi receive from her.

Here’s what I used for ingredients. Realistically, you could use just about any filling you wanted. I’ve had avocado before, and it was wonderful! It’s also super easy to make this vegan or vegetarian.

 

1 cup white rice

1 package Nori sheets

2 carrots, grated

1 package of salmon (really, just because I had it on hand…)

1 cucumber

4 oz cream cheese

siracha mayo (or, this easy vegan spicy mayo recipe)

  1. Cook the rice according to the instructions on the package. Let cool 20 minutes.

    IMG_2440
    The uncooked rice
  2. Grate the carrots, and cut the cucumber and celery into long, thin strips (see pictures for clarification)
  3. Take a sheet of Nori. Spread rice over about 2 inches at one end. Top the rice with any other fillings (carrots, cucumber, celery, salmon, etc.)
  4. Spread cream cheese carefully on the sheet next to the rice.
  5. Roll it up! Try to make the first roll just past the end of the filling (so aim to touch the end to just barely past the edge of the filling), and then continue rolling.
  6. Put a small amount of warm water on the part of the Nori past the first roll. I suggest filling a bowl with water then dipping your fingers in and “flicking” them onto the Nori.
  7. Finish rolling and make sure the end sticks to the rest of the roll-if not, add more water.

    IMG_2450
    Waiting to be cut
  8. Set aside for at least 5 minutes.
  9. Continue filling and rolling the rest of the Nori sheets. Experiment with different filling combos!
  10. Cut the rolls, starting with the oldest roll first. Some people chop off the ends since they’re not as pretty, but I just eat them like the rest of the roll. I did 1-2 in. pieces, but again-up to you!

    IMG_2452
    The finished product!
  11. Eat topped with siracha mayo, soy sauce, or anything else that sounds good.

 

 

1 Comment

Comment!

