Cranberry apple sweet potato bake

Last year around this time, I tried sweet potatoes for the first time. I know sweet potatoes are a staple in some Thanksgiving dinners, but I had never had one before (I think my mom might be anti-sweet potato but I’m not sure..). The oven in our apartment was broken for a few weeks earlier this fall. Since then, I’ve been meaning to make an apple crisp.

However, my wonderful roommate, who tends to be the inspiration for many of my recipe ideas, mentioned sweet potatoes in casual conversation, and I remembered making something similar to this last fall.

I found a recipe last year for a Hasselback sweet potato recipe with apples. About halfway through trying to hasselback my first potato, I decided it was way too complicated, and proceeded to just slice the potatoes. This recipe is my attempt to recreate last year’s sweet potato experience..with a few modifications.

IMG_1974
Waiting for it to cool down enough to sample!

2 sweet potatoes (one was really big)

2 apples (I used Braeburn because they were cheap, but it shouldn’t matter)

1/3 cup cinnamon sugar

1 small can cranberry sauce

2 Tbsp. butter

  1. Cut the sweet potatoes into thin slices. Cut the apples into thin slices.
  2. Spray the bottom of a 9 x 9 brownie pan.
  3. Layer the sweet potato and apple slices into the pan (or intermix them-it really doesn’t matter. I put the sweet potatoes on the bottom with the apples on the top).
  4. Cover with cranberry sauce
  5. Cut the butter into small chunks and sprinkle on the top.
  6. Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar over the top to completely cover.
    1. note: cinnamon sugar is just 1/2 cinnamon, 1/2 white sugar (I keep it on hand for oatmeal)
  7. Cover with foil and bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes, or until apples and potatoes are soft.
  8. Enjoy! This would probably be good with vanilla ice cream.

sweetpotato2

Comment!

