First post: Tikka Masala

I wasn’t actually planning on making this a post, so I don’t have any pictures…but hey, it’s my first post, so oh well.

This is the first thing in a while I’ve actually been excited about making. A few weeks ago, my mom sent me a few recipes from a magazine featuring chick peas, or, as I prefer to call them, “garbanzo beans”. When I first saw the recipe, I saw that it called for half a cup of cream and immediately wrote it off as having too much fat.

The original recipe
The original recipe

After a few weeks of boring meals and a disastrous encounter with TVP, I decided to try it.

My wonderful roommate (who, by the way, is a vegan and an aspiring dietician) and I went to Winco (best grocery store of all time!) to find the ingredients Sunday night when we really should’ve been studying, and we were off to the races!

She suggested that I use coconut milk in the place of cream. I was a little skeptical, but I decided to go with it. We couldn’t find the garam masala there (no surprise), so we went to the co-op. I almost died when I saw the price ($7 for a tiny 2 oz can!!!), but we found it for cheaper ($30 a lb, but the amount I needed was only 83 cents) in the bulk section.

I cooked it up as soon as we got home. We couldn’t find our ginger, and I did need to use two pans since we didn’t have a big enough one to hold everything, but nothing disastrous happened.

So, with no further ado, here’s my version of the recipe:

virgin olive oil

1/2 yellow onion

1 serrano chile

1 Tbsp. garam masala

1/2 can tomato paste

2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes

3/4 cup of coconut milk

2 cans of garbanzo beans

  1. cut the onion and saute in the olive oil (medium heat about five minutes)
  2. In the meantime, dice the chile (take out the ribs and seeds!).
  3. Add the tomato paste, chile, and garam masala and cook for another minute.
  4. Add the crushed tomatoes and garbanzo beans. Bring to a simmer and cook covered for 15 minutes.
  5. Stir in the coconut milk
  6. enjoy!

By the way, my version is vegan!

tikka masala nutrition
Calories: 1457 Note: I use loseit to calculate my nutritional information. Chances are, it’s not exactly correct. Keep this in mind.
2 thoughts on “First post: Tikka Masala

Comment!

